Research Project Update

So I realized that my previous post wasn’t very clear at all about what the purpose of my project that I secured with my thermodynamics professor is about. To make it simpler, I’ll try to break down the purpose.

To begin, this project has to do with the thermodynamics courses offered at different universities. Let’s be honest, thermodynamics is no one’s favorite course (although I will admit that I found it kind of interesting). So the goal of this program is to find a way to revamp the course to make it more interesting.

How so? To begin, each university partners a professor and a student to think of any real-life situation where thermodynamics could be applied. I say real-life, but it doesn’t necessarily have to be realistic. For example, you could talk about energy sources in a zombie apocalypse or something like that.

If the project goes well, then the next step is to find a way to implement it into the thermodynamics course, where hopefully, the students taking the course will find it more interesting and see that there is more to thermodynamics than purely conceptual cycles that have no place in the real world.

Here’s a link to a sample one if you’re interested: http://online.fliphtml5.com/zyet/swsb/#p=13

Look through the first few pages.

Leave a Reply

