So Much Math

To be candid, my position here as a blogger is probably one of the easier and stress-free jobs available to work study students. You don’t have a fixed schedule and you are given the freedom of working wherever you want. I’m currently typing this out while munching on some Trail Mix in my room.

But one of the advantages I gain from my position is that I have the opportunity to maintain my writing skills at a respectable level. Of course, it’s not the same as taking an English class, but it’s better than nothing.

This goes double as a mechanical engineering student. Looking at the courses I’m currently taking and the ones that I will eventually have to take, I don’t have a single English class lined up. Every single one of my classes is related to physics or math. It’s gotten to the point where I think about equations and different physics laws and how all my courses relate to each other on an hourly basis.

Even in my freshman year, I didn’t have to take any English/Writing classes, so I’ve gone over a year without writing a real paper. But as I’ve said before and will continue to say, writing is how we communicate with each other (outside of talking, of course), so even if you are a Mech E major, do whatever you can to continue honing your writing skills.

Leave a Reply

