How a Mechanical Watch Works

Over Spring break I was rummaging through some old drawers in my room where I found an old pocket watch my grandfather gave me a few years ago. I wound it up and it began ticking. Curious, I opened the back to see what I could find. I recorded the video above in slow motion to see how it worked. Well I couldn’t get a good grasp on it and I didn’t have the tools to take it apart so I searched YouTube for answers. The video below provides a great explanation that’s pretty easy to comprehend, even if it is from 1949. As a fun exercise, watch the video below and then watch the video I made above and see if you can spot all of the major components that make the watch function. Since I watched these videos I’ve gained a huge appreciation for these tiny mechanical marvels.

One thought on “How a Mechanical Watch Works

Leave a Reply

