New Work-study Job

A few weeks ago I changed my work-study job to something a little bit closer related to my major and what I would like to do in the future. It is a position in which I am working with one of Professor Harts, whom I have talked a lot about, graduate students. What he is doing is making a gun launched areal surveillance drone for Keystone Automation. Right now, as a junior, I do not have a lot of knowledge of machine tools and of Solidworks, a 3D design software, to be of much help. However, the graduate student that I am working for is having me do odd jobs and is teaching me how to use machines.

The second week of class he had me make one working trainer aircraft from two broken ones. I did this so that he can use it to practice flying without using the drone. Below are some pictures of the trainer. Now if you notice, the wings are not attached. There is a screw that allows them to be easily swapped out so I did not put them on.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

Two weeks ago he had me learn Solidworks so that I can help in modeling things. Last week, he showed me how to use the lathe. He needed some screws made so he figured it would be a good opportunity for me to learn.

I am very happy that I have found this new work-study job. I can now start using my hands and start building things.

Leave a Reply

